Prestige Awards

Our Prestige Awards celebrate and recognise excellent engineering in both academia and professional practice.

With awards open to both members and non-members of the Institution (see individual awards for details), the Awards champion engineers who have improved the world, or advanced the discipline of engineering both through professional and volunteering efforts.

Our Awards

Discover more about more about each award and how to apply. Each award is open to self-nomination.

James Clayton Prize

Prize: up to £10,000 plus certificate

Awarded to a member(s) of the Institution who, contributes most in that year, or over recent years,  to modern engineering science – by way of research, invention, experimental work, a paper on a modern engineering subject, originality in engineering design or by service to engineering.

Find out more

James Watt International Gold Medal

The premier international award of the Institution is awarded biennially - next awarded in 2021- to an eminent engineer who has attained world-wide recognition in mechanical engineering in any direction - science and research, invention or production.

Find out more

Alastair Graham-Bryce Award

Prize: £5,000 and trophy

Prize(s) awarded to an individual or group making a significant contribution to the encouragement of young people towards a career in engineering.

Find out more

Verena Winifred Holmes Award

Prize: £1,500 cash prize plus certificate

The Verena Winifred Holmes Award (previously the Equality and Diversity Award) is intended to recognise those individuals who have achieved by undertaking a unique challenge or experience, perhaps to benefit people from groups with different needs, or with a past record of disadvantage or low participation.

Find out more

Award for Risk Reduction in Mechanical Engineering

Prize: £1,500 cash prize plus certificate

This award recognises any eminent engineer who has contributed most in the understanding and/or reduction of risk in any area of mechanical engineering.

Find out more

Thomas Hawksley Gold Medal and George Stephenson Gold Medal

Awarded for the best original papers published by the Institution in the past 12 months.

Find out more

Have a question?

Contact our Prizes and Awards Team about our awards, scholarships or prizes.

Join the IMechE conversation

IMechE Facebook IMechE Twitter IMechE LinkedIn IMechE Instagram IMechE YouTube